Faith · Help

Worth the Wait

Today I got a letter in the mail from my pen-pal. The pen-pal who hadn’t written me in months… And if you are reading this, pen-pal (you know who you are), please know that I am so happy that you finally wrote back!

Sometimes I am impatient. Having this person as a pen-pal has really tested my patience. She is a great friend, but doesn’t always write back right away. When we first became friends, I had a hard time waiting for her to write back. I wanted to have  a response NOW. But when I realized that she wouldn’t always respond the same day I felt a bit of anger. Soon I thought that she had forgotten me. And I sent her an email begging her to respond, and when she did, I was happy.

As my trust in God grew greater, I learned to wait. God has used my friendship with my pen-pal to grow my patience. I have learned that my pen-pal will write back even if it is not immediately, even if it takes months. Believe me it is worth the wait. This friend has challenge me to grow my faith, she has challenge me to become a better person. I do not know what my relationship with God would be like right now if it weren’t for her. It is sooooooooooo worth waiting for her letters!

Now, you might not have a pen-pal who doesn’t respond right away, but you probably are waiting for something. Actually I know we all are waiting for something (hint: COVID-19). We need to rely on God’s plan and his timing. His plan is best. God used my friendship with my pen-pal to grow my patience and my faith.

I do not know what the future holds, I do not know what tomorrow brings. I know that God is in control and that his plan is best. I pray that you will put your trust in the Lord almighty. Know that His plan is the best even when times are tough!

-Haley

4 thoughts on “Worth the Wait

Leave a comment